The United Nations (UN) is an intergovernmental organization to promote international cooperation established on 24 October 1945 following World War II in order to prevent another such conflict.

The Permanent 5
The permanent members of the United Nations Security Council, also known as the Permanent Five, Big Five, or P5, include the following five governments: China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States. The members represent the five great powers considered the victors of World War II.

Each of the permanent members has the power to veto, enabling them to prevent the adoption of any “substantive” draft Council resolution, regardless of the level of international support for the draft.

More coming soon.