Intense Screening Will Remain Elevated for Travelers from 14 Nations

Responding to the security threat of the Northwest Airlines Flight 253 bomber on Christmas Day, all travelers flying into the U.S. from 14 nations considered high risk will be patted down and have carry-on luggage searched indefinitely under new security procedures decision starting Monday, according to TSA.

The nations included in the indefinite elevated airport security procedures are: Cuba, Iran, Sudan, Syria, Afghanistan, Algeria, Lebanon, Libya, Iraq, Nigeria, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Somalia and Yemen.

The change actually represents easing off from the immediate response that included all passengers, because Americans will not face the intense scrutiny starting Monday.

SOURCE: U.S. Intensifies Screening for Travelers From 14 Nations